The hummingbird

Hummingbird

On Saturday, I went home to Oxnard to have lunch with some cousins visiting from Glendale. It was gloomy in LA but Oxnard was nothing but sun. I made it a point to breathe in the clean, smog-free air. Before going into my mom’s house, I was so excited to find a hummingbird feeding on one of my mom’s flowers, adding to the beauty of the day. Seeing hummingbirds, for me, is so exhilarating for the simple fact that they hardly stay in the same place for more than a minute.

But this particular one lingered for a while, long enough to let me snap a few photos of it and even a video. I’ve never been able to photograph one so closely, and I love how it came out. He’s so beautiful with his green feathers and his tiny little beak. Valentino (my handy iPhone) couldn’t even keep up with his wings- you could see the movement of his wings close to the pedals.

I’ve wondered why I’m so fascinated by them. Of course, they’re super cute, being one of the smallest breed of birds, their wings are just so cool to see and hear in action, and the physics of how they move around is mind blowing. But I looked up their cultural symbolism, and in Native American cultures, they:

symbolize timeless joy and the Nectar of Life. It’s a symbol for accomplishing that which seems impossible and will teach you how to find the miracle of joyful living from your own life circumstances. (Animal Speak, Andrews)

Perfect.

Leave a Reply

