Brandi Carlile at Clive Davis Theater on June 11

I had a conversation once with my good friend Darwin and discovered how my taste in music works. I can’t like an artist unless I like his/her entire album. If I find myself skipping at least 1/4 of the songs, it’s not my kind of artist; and if the artist sucks live, then definitely not my kind of artist. It has to be a completely holistic experience for me, hands down.

Brandi Carlile is one of the artists who gives me that holistic experience. She’s my most recent discovery thanks to a good friend, and I’ve been listening to her nonstop ever since. If you haven’t heard of her before, I encourage you to take a listen. She’s as amazing live as she is in the studio- her album Live at Benaroya Hall with the Seattle Symphony easily backs that up.

And incidentally, she has a show close to my birthday so I’m going to treat myself to some good ear candy. Shall we?

Leave a Reply

