Keep Your Heart Young

Lately, I’ve been thinking way too much about my future. I guess it’s part of life, to think ahead and make sure you’re heading in the right direction. But I’ve had to stop myself every so often because thinking ahead sometimes makes my heart palpitate, like when I eat Quaker Oats chocolate chip granola bars or when I put too much sugar in my coffee.

I think about how old I’ll be when I can finally say I’m 100% debt-free (3-4 years is my goal!). I think about what career I’ll have for the rest of my life (video game story developer, famous romance novelist, talent scout, consigment shop owner, single-men fashion stylist…). I think about when I can buy my next car with cash and pay off my mortgage  in less than 10 or 15 years. I think about when I can start saving for my kids’ college funds.

But songs like “Keep Your Heart Young” by my girl, Brandi Carlile, remind me to just slow down and not to “grow old before my time has come” and to “keep [my] heart young.” I hope to live moments with the same awe I had when I was a kid, and re-discover emotions and experiences as if it were my first time. Because who knows – “sometimes you don’t die quick, just like you wish you’d done.”

I’m still young, anyway. And I’ll stay forever young, even when I’m old and gray.

Leave a Reply

