Picks for the Omnivorous Reader, November 27

I may be on the really late train but I just discovered Nancy Pearl’s recurring Morning Edition piece on NPR, “Picks for the Omnivorous Reader” after downloading NPR’s amazeballs news app. (I’ve long gotten tired of the BBC News app – can I get at least one piece of good news each day??) I’m weary of lists telling me what to read, as I’ve relied on bestseller lists before and they’re just not my kind of list. I mean, 50 Shades of Grey? Come on, I already read some great romance via Rachel Gibson and Jennifer Crusie – they’re even better writers; they’re hilarious too which is such a bonus.

I also tried reading a book from Pullitzer Prize winning author, Junot Diaz – This Is How You Lose Her – but I was not nearly as impressed as the jury that awarded him for a past book. I hate his writing style, sorry to say… It’s very cliche. And that comes from a girl who reads cliche and euphamism-ridden romance novels. I’ll take another jab at it in hopes that I’ll at least read through but we’ll see…

Come on Pullitzer Prize jury and bestselling lists, you have yet to help me widen my reading lists beyond romance and finance books…

Anyway, my point in all this is, I’m going to give librarian Nancy Pearl’s awesome-looking November 27 list a chance with America Aflame by David Goldfield. It has to be good – first because Nancy Pearl recommended it for Goldfield’s graceful prose and holistic history of the Civil War, and second because I’m #4 on a hold queue for 1 copy at the local public library.

I’ll be waiting a bit for my first novel on your list, but in the meantime, keep ’em coming, Nancy. I hope your list proves to be a Joanne kind of list…

Leave a Reply

