My 25th at Grand Canyon

Many friends of mine have celebrated their 25th birthday with huge parties, but I knew I wanted something different from the day I turned 24: the Grand Canyon.

How it was barely my first time at the Grand Canyon, don’t ask. For a girl who has a huge travel bug like me, it was baffling that I put it off for so long. But what counts is that I finally made it out, thanks to the very sweet Conradical, who proclaimed that he would take me anywhere I wanted to go for my birthday. I would’ve said Paris, but I’ll ask for that way down the line…

We stayed in Flagstaff, which has a cute and quaint downtown, very walkable and lively. The morning after the Canyon, we luckily stumbled upon the best restaurant in town called MartAnne’s which claims to have the best Mexican breakfast – my chilaquiles and Conrad’s omelette made us believers!

At the Canyon, we started at Yavapai Point and walked through the Geology Museum to get a refresher on the history of the Canyon. We then walked a couple miles to the village where we enjoyed lunch outdoors at a cute hotel. To walk off the nachos and buffalo wings (so healthy), we hiked a couple miles down the Canyon on the Bright Angel Trail. Easy going down, of course, but whoah, my gosh, walking back up – it did a job on my lungs. But it felt so good to get to the top again – it made me feel so well achieved, even if it was only a couple miles down. One day, I’ll make the hike all the way down! Or, ride a donkey. Whichever comes first.

We then drove to Yaki Point, where an old watchtower provided 360-degree views of the Canyon and where I found my favorite view of the Colorado River–

My favorite view of the canyon from an old watchtower.We then drove back to the Visitor Center to enjoy the beautiful sunset. We were unsuccessful at taking great pictures of ourselves, but luckily a sweet stranger sympathized and offered to take a photo for us–

Great shot from a sweet stranger who didn't mind taking the photo.We finished the trip with Grand Canyon’s annual Star Party, which only happens one week in the year – the weekend of my birthday fell perfectly in coincidence! It was a truly magical way to experience the sky, with no light pollution whatsoever. The Tucson Amateur Astronomy Association provided tons of different types of telescopes to look mostly at Saturn and a few galaxies. They were informative, engaging, and so passionate, as I’ve found all astronomers to be anyway. The Star Party as a whole was just unbelievably amazing – something I want to experience again soon.

This was definitely the best 25th I’ll ever see! Thanks to Conradical for making it happen!

 

 

Leave a Reply

